Morrant SportsTVCL - Home Page


A Brief History

The TVCL was founded in 1972. The competition was originally for 1st Xs only and there were 14 teams in our first season in 1972. This increased to 16 teams in 1975 and then to 18 in 1979. The 2nd XI competition began in 1979 and the 3rd Xi competition in 1980. Then in 1993 the Lee 75 and Three Counties leagues were amalgamated into the TVCL.

The advent of premier league cricket in 2000 led to a further restructure, with our top teams moving up into the new Home Counties Premier Cricket League and the TVCL reformatting below into ten team divisions with the lower XIs of some clubs competing against higher XIs of other clubs. The league was then further enlarged in 2008 with the admission of 8 new clubs and 20 new teams. We currently have 58 member clubs and 170 teams, which means 85 matches on 18 consecutive Saturdays from May to September every year.

The TVCL is run by a management committee, which is appointed every year at the AGM. This is a list of officers since commencement:

President 2011- Neil Doody Finchampstead
Chairman 1970-1976 Keith Salter Maidenhead & Bray
1977-1980 Brian Janes High Wycombe
1981-2011 Neil Doody Finchampstead
2012-2013 Jeremy Davis Bagshot
2014- Raj Patel Kew
Vice Chairman 2002-2013 Philip Newfield OMT
2014- Wilson Carlisle Falkland
Secretary 1970-1972 Rodney Rigby Slough
1973-1976 Malcolm Phillips Staines & Laleham
1977 Mike Evers Tring Park
1978-1980 Jim Young Boyne Hill
1981-1984 Simon Wickens Slough
1985-1988 Tony Westmoreland Harrow
1989-2002 Derek Pyne Basingstoke & NH
2003-2007 Kevin Fraser Marlow Park
2008-2013 Raj Patel Kew
2014- Matthew Stevenson Chalfont St Peter
Fixture Secretary 1982-1986 Bernie Forde Hounslow
1987-1996 Steve Baker Harrow
1997- John Goodman
Treasurer 1972 Rodney Rigby Slough
1973 Malcolm Phillips Staines & Laleham
1975-1979 Geoff Kendall Eastcote
1980 Neil Doody Finchampstead
1981- Martin House Slough